Introducing My Top Stitcher Competitor, Michelle White.

Two posts in one day. If you think that craziness is about to ensue you would be right. I am so excited to announce that I will be participating in Season 3 of Top Stitchers over at it’s new home at Sewing Stadium. I am soooooooo excited. Becca comes up with the BEST prompts for this contest and it really pushes me to come up with not just clothing, but a whole story to go along with it. Our prompt is Post-Apocalyptic Style. Here is the prompt we were given…

“Bridges collapse, communication shuts down, and those fabric stores you love so much are over-run with zombies. Most survivors are hunkered down wearing whatever rags were on their backs when The End arrived, or ill-fitting garments they looted from a stranger’s closet. But not your kid. Your daughter has a master upcyclist for a mother, and you’re going to turn the trash around you into the most durable, functional, and stylish duds for your post-apocalyptic world.”

— Post-Apocalyptic Styles Prompt

Eeeekkkkk…sooooooo awesome.

Not only do I love the prompts of Top Stitchers, but there is so much talent involved. Today I want to introduce you to my competitor Michelle White from Falafel and The Bee. I am a huge fan of Michelle’s so it is such an honor to compete against her.

Here is a little more about Michelle.

meandfm

1. When did you start sewing? I did take Home Ec in High School, but I really didn’t sew until my first child (who is now 15) was born.

2. What is your favorite thing about sewing?  I work well with parameters in Art, any creative medium, really. When I am given so many choices (like “paint whatever you want”) I get overwhelmed. But with sewing, I know a shirt will be a shirt. The creative part comes with how I make that shirt, and what it ends up looking like. I LOVE THAT. Plus, sewing something that someone will use everyday is practical. I love that too.
3. Who is your sewing rockstar? Oh goodness there are quite a few. But the two that come to mind for their incredible skills are Gretchen from Gertie’s Blog for Better Sewing, and Oonaballoona. Those ladies are super stars! I adore their professionalism and amazing abilities.
4. Besides sewing, what do you love to do? I love accompanying on the piano, my oldest daughter while she is playing the fiddle. We play with a group and I just love that time we get to spend together making fun music. I also really love photography. It amazing how you can uncover so much beauty in this world just by looking through the lens.

5. What is your favorite post apocalyptic movie? and why? Well, I tend to like the “lighter” ones like the movie 2012 where there is lots of action and less of the thriller/zombie/cannibal aspect. The Planet of the Apes films (newer ones) are really well done, too. And then there isI am Legend which is great (except for the zombies- I am a total wimp) and I loved The Road, but once was enough to haunt me for a lifetime (again,cannibals are not my cup of tea- ha!). Another favorite is Tank Girl.

Make sure to keep an eye out for what Michelle, I and all the other Top Stitchers are up to this season.

Leave a Reply

