Knot Sew Normal’s – Top 10 List of Cheap Summer Fun Activities

 top-10-summer-activities Summer is in full swing here and I have been scouring the internet for activities for Miss G and Mr T.  I think I am feeling extra motivated to do things with them since this is the last full month we have before Miss G starts Kindergarten. Last week I brought you my free water play station and this week I am bringing you my top 10 Summer Fun Activities. 

kids-fun-005 1. Exploding Paint Bags has by far been the favorite activity that we have done. The kids are still talking about this one. I found the recipe for this one over on Growing a Jeweled Rose. I did add non-concentrated Dawn dish soap to my paint bags so it would make the paint extra foamy.

kids-fun-001kids-fun-002

kids-fun-0072. Super Snow in July – This one was another BIG hit with my kids. They played with this for over an hour. I am not sure where I got the recipe for this one. I had this written in my recipe box for a few years, but we had never gotten around to it. We will be doing this one several more times. To make this I split a box of corn starch between the two kids and then I just kept squirting shaving cream into it and letting them mix it in. For the colors I just sprinkled some kool-aid onto it.

kids-fun-003

kids-fun-006 3. Giant Bubble Solution – I found this recipe over on Happy Holligans. It made really big bubbles and kept the kids entertained for quiet a while. Mr. T was the best and kept making giant bubbles, which Miss G delighted in popping.

kids-fun-004kids-fun-008

The rest of the list are things that I have listed for us to do this summer.

4. From Happy Holligans Melting Elsa’s Frozen Hands

My Frozen obsessed kids will love this one.  I think I will have to come up with a Olaf type of frozen activity for Mr. T.

5. Another Happy Holligan activity – Fairy Mud This one just looks so fun and pretty. I can’t wait for us to do this one.

6. Play Cross Step: Draw a 10 x 10 grid on your driveway or sidewalk with chalk and have each player stand in a square. As each player moves, have him or her cross out the square they were standing in. The rules of the game state that you can’t step into a square that has already been crossed out. When a player can no longer take a step, they are out. The last player standing wins!

7. Water balloons – What can be more fun than having a water balloon war in the backyard. I am planning on doing this the weekend of Miss G’s birthday.

8. Have a Picnic – We did this a few times back in the spring, but we need to do it more. The kids love sitting outside on a blanket to eat lunch.

9. Pick flowers and press them.

10. Paint Pet Rocks – Painting is always a hit. I think painting a new friend will be a double hit.

We are having a great summer and we hope you all are too!!

Knot Sew Normal - Signature

2 thoughts on “Knot Sew Normal’s – Top 10 List of Cheap Summer Fun Activities

Leave a Reply

