Rain Boots Makeover – A Duct Tape Tutorial

Boot-tutorial-collage

One of the hardest parts of having a girl and then a boy is hand-me-downs. There just aren’t any. I had these boots sitting in the give-away pile when BAM! Spongebob came to the rescue. I have been itching to try my hand at a duct tape craft and this was a perfect opportunity. 

For this project you will need

  • Rain Boots
  • Duct Tape
  • Paint suitable for plastics (if you need to cover-up some of the color)

Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal
The first thing I did was remove this Hello Kitty decal piece. I didn’t want a kitty-shaped bump under my duct tape.

Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal
Next I spray painted the bottoms and let that dry and then I painted the tops. I focused on the very top and the very bottom of the boots. I wasn’t worried about painting the middle where the tape would go.

Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal
After that you will want to add your duct tape. Sorry I didn’t get pictures of this part. It’s hard to duct tape and take photos at the same time. I started at the very bottom back and worked my way around to the toe. After I wrapped it partially around the toe I cut the tape and then I placed cuts anywhere the tape was wanting to crease. Fold over tape and try to smooth out any small creases. You will have some creases, don’t stress to much over them. Then you will do the other bottom half the same way. I just worked my way up the boot. As you can see I left the very tops and bottoms uncovered.

Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal
Your final step is to insert boys foot into boot and make boy happy.

Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal
Let boy go check out garden in boots.

Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal Rain Boots Makeover - A duct tape tutorial - Knot Sew Normal
Optional : Turn on the water sprinkler for an extra happy boy!

Until next time friends.

Knot Sew Normal - Signature

6 thoughts on “Rain Boots Makeover – A Duct Tape Tutorial

Leave a Reply

