Nautical Siblings & An Applique Tutorial

nautical applique

 

I just finished up another Aster Cardigan from Willow & Co and I made Mr. T a matching shirt and shorts also . For Mr. T’s shirt I roughly used the Made By Rae, Little Bit of Color Hoodie tutorial. For both pairs of shorts I used the Flat Front Pant tutorial from Dana Made It. I have tweaked the flat front pant pattern to fit both of my kids really well. As a matter of fact, Mr T has grown a bit since I last made them and I had to re-draft his pattern.

nautical applique sibs-002

nautical appliqueMy favorite part of this cardigan is this little anchor applique that I put on the back. This little detail is what I like to call a happy accident. I am going to show you what I do when I almost royally mess something up.

nautical applique Sometimes when I am cutting out fabric I get a little sloppy and things like this happen. This fabric was from an upcycled t-shirt and I didn’t want to waste it, so I decided to cover it up.

nautical applique The first thing I did was trace this cute anchor onto some freezer paper and cut the design out.

nautical applique Next iron your stencil onto your fabric.

nautical applique Paint your design in. On this dark blue fabric it took about 4 coats of paint, then I added the sparkle paint last.

nautical applique After your design dries iron some Wonder Under onto the back of the applique.

nautical applique Iron the applique over the hole.

nautical applique Sew around the edge of your applique. You can use a zig zag stitch or a straight stitch.

That’s it. Now you have a cute detail where there once was a hole. Easy peesy, lemon squeezy.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Nautical Siblings & An Applique Tutorial

Leave a Reply

